Home

After a couple of months of discussion, our group finally decided on the topic/parameters for our “show within a show” at our annual exhibit later this year. We had talked about various ideas for themes. We talked about physical restrictions – paintings all the same size or all having a common color or all incorporating another specific material. Other ideas including using phrases or poetry.

In the end, the group decided on music. After that decision, they sat around listening to various music trying to decide on what to use. In the end they decided on Vivaldi’s Four Seasons. I couldn’t make it to that meeting, but was somewhat surprised by the decision. I guess I thought we’d end up with a physical restriction – size, shape, color, something like that. Even with music as the theme, I was still surprised by the Vivaldi. Personally, I love the Vivaldi. It just wasn’t what I would have expected.

As of our last meeting earlier this week, no one had actually started on their piece for the show. It will be interesting to see what comes of this. Interpreting music is an interesting exercise and it’ll be very interesting to see the same music interpreted by several very diverse artists. Also, not necessarily an easy thing. I’ve been listening to the music at odd moments in the studio, but still have no idea how I’ll approach this project. I’ll hope to be able to post some of the paintings as they become available.

3 thoughts on “Vivaldi to grace the walls at our next exhibit

  1. As a group of abstract artists, the democratic process of reaching a decision as to the details for the show within a show worked as it should.

    As a group of abstract artists, anything can happen in the individual interpretation of each piece – all the more exciting…..:-)

  2. I agree. I can’t wait to see what people come up with. Interpreting music is a very difficult task for me, so I guess I should be starting on this right away. Maybe I can have something to look at by the next meeting.

  3. Pingback: Interpreting music in paint – the Vivaldi challenge | Ethel Hills

Leave a Reply

